This page's content is no longer actively maintained, but the material has been kept on-line for historical purposes.
The page may contain broken links or outdated information, and parts may not function in current web browsers.

The 18th Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference

The 18th Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference (ELS-XVIII,
will be held at the Zhejiang University, Hangzhou city, Zhejiang province, China from 10-14 June 2019.

It will build on the remarkable success of the previous ELS conferences held in Amsterdam, Helsinki (twice), New York, Vigo, Halifax, Gainesville, Bremen, Salobreña, St. Petersburg, Bodrum, Hatfield, Taormina, Lille, Leipzig, College Park, and College Station. The main objective of the conference is to bring together scientists and engineers studying various aspects of light scattering and to provide a relaxed academic atmosphere for in-depth discussions of theoretical advances, measurements, and applications.


The specific topics that will be covered include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • new theoretical developments, numerical simulations, and laboratory measurements of light scattering by nonspherical and morphologically complex particles and particle groups
  • detection and characterization of atmospheric particulates using laboratory, in situ, and remote sensing techniques
  • scattering of light by terrestrial aerosols and clouds
  • scattering of light by oceanic particulates
  • scattering of light by solar system objects, exoplanets, and exoplanetary environments
  • scattering of light by various astrophysical objects
  • applications of light scattering methods in biology and biomedicine
  • light scattering in densely packed particulate media
  • near-field and coherent effects in light scattering, optical trapping, and manipulation
  • light scattering methods to control material properties and technological applications


The updated (on May 6) and hopefully final conference program (complete with abstracts) is available in the PDF format as Schedule_Full.pdf. We have a full day of talks on Friday, including some of the more interesting talks. The science sessions will be followed by a festive farewell party. Therefore, everyone is encouraged to travel back home no eralier than Saturday.

Book of abstracts

(click to see the book of ELS-XVIII abstracts)


You can register for the conference and pay the registration fee here:

Travel support

We expect that funds will be available to sponsor travel of a limited group of U.S. PhD students and postdocs. Each individual grant will not exceed $2,200. Please apply to Dr. Jun Wang ( and copy Michael Mishchenko (

Visa support

Please notify Lei Bi at if you need an official invitation in order to apply for Chinese visa.


Information on the conference venue is available here:

Travel and lodging

Travel information is available here

Abstract submission

Please e-mail your abstract by 15 March 2019 to with a copy to Only Word files will be accepted. Please use the following Word template.

Invited presentations

Contributed talks

Click to see the list of accepted abstracts.

Conference conveners

Lei Bi, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
Michael Mishchenko, NASA GISS, New York, USA
Jun Wang, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA
Ping Yang, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA

Local organizing committee

Qunke Xia, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
Long Cao, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
Weijun Li, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
Yang Du, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
Dawei Wang, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
Xiaoyu Zhang, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China

Program committee

Gérard Gouesbet, National Institute of Applied Sciences, Rouen, France
Joop Hovenier, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Nikolai Khlebtsov, Russian Academy of Sciences, Saratov, Russia
Gerhard Kristensson, Lund University, Sweden
James Lock, Cleveland State University, OH, USA
Hal Maring, NASA HQ, Washington, DC, USA
M. Pinar Mengüç, Ozyegin University, Istanbul, Turkey
Karri Muinonen, University of Helsinki & National Land Survey, Finland
Christopher Sorensen, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS, USA
Gorden Videen, Army Research Laboratory, Adelphi, MD, USA
Thomas Wriedt, University of Bremen, Germany
Maxim Yurkin, Novosibirsk State University, Russia


There will be two Elsevier awards presented at the conference:

  • The 2019 Peter C. Waterman Award presented to an early career scientist in the category of electromagnetic scattering (see announcement).
  • The 2019 Richard M. Goody Award presented to an early career scientist in the category of atmospheric radiation and remote sensing (see announcement).

Topical issue of JQSRT

Following the highly successful ELS practice, we will be soliciting papers for the ELS-XVIII Topical Issue of the Journal of Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer (JQSRT) and hope that you will want your state-of-the-art research to become part of yet another benchmark collection of papers on electromagnetic scattering and its applications. This Topical Issue will consist only of full-size papers documenting research either reported at the conference or pertaining to the main topics of ELS-XVIII. Extended abstracts of conference presentations will not be considered. Each submission will be thoroughly reviewed by at least two independent referees to ensure that all accepted manuscripts satisfy the highest standards of scientific quality adopted for JQSRT. Again, this will be a topical issue of JQSRT rather than a conference proceedings volume.

To expedite the communication of your research results to the scientific community, each paper will be officially published (including the year, volume, and page numbers) as soon as it has been accepted, typeset, and proof-read. In other words, the authors of accepted manuscripts will see their papers officially published without having to wait for the rest of the manuscripts to get accepted. This accelerated publication protocol is a recent improvement in the JQSRT production process. The paper submission deadline is 30 September 2019.


Further information:

Lei Bi,

Scattering Home
Books | Publications On-Line | T-Matrix Database
Codes: T-Matrix | Bidirectional Reflectance | Lorenz-Mie
Related Codes and Databases

PDF documents linked in this page may be viewed using Adobe's free Acrobat Reader.