The 19th Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference

The 19th Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference (ELS-XIX) will be held at the ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia, from 13 - 17 July 2020.

It will build on the remarkable success of the previous ELS conferences held in Amsterdam, Helsinki (twice), New York, Vigo, Halifax, Gainesville, Bremen, Salobreña, St. Petersburg, Bodrum, Hatfield, Taormina, Lille, Leipzig, College Park, College Station, and Hangzhou. The main objective of the conference is to bring together scientists and engineers studying various aspects of light scattering and to provide a relaxed academic atmosphere for in-depth discussions of theoretical advances, measurements, and applications.

Travel support

We expect that funds will be available to sponsor travel of a limited group of U.S. PhD students and postdocs. Each individual grant will not exceed $2,200. Please submit your application to Dr. Matthew Berg (


The specific topics that will be covered include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • new theoretical developments, numerical simulations, and laboratory measurements of light scattering by nonspherical and morphologically complex particles and particle groups
  • detection and characterization of atmospheric particulates using laboratory, in situ, and remote sensing techniques
  • scattering of light by terrestrial aerosols and clouds
  • scattering of light by oceanic particulates
  • scattering of light by solar system objects, exoplanets, and exoplanetary environments
  • scattering of light by various astrophysical objects
  • applications of light scattering methods in biology and biomedicine
  • light scattering in densely packed particulate media
  • near-field and coherent effects in light scattering, optical trapping, and manipulation
  • light scattering methods to control material properties and technological applications

Abstract submission

Please e-mail your abstract by 15 March 2020 to with a copy to Only Word files will be accepted. Please use the following Word template.

Conference venue

The ITMO University if located in the historical center of St. Petsburg. The city was thoroughly refurbished for the World Cup held in Russia in 2018 and has by now become the No. 1 tourist destination in Europe.

Late June through mid July is a beautiful time of year, famous for its "White Nights". The weather is usually nice, with temperatures around 18-19 C.

Given the extreme popularity of this destination in July, it is very important to start your planning now and reserve a hotel as early as possible.

Invited lectures

Contributed talks

Click to see the list of accepted abstracts.

Conference conveners

Alexey Shcherbakov, ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia
Michael Mishchenko, NASA GISS, New York, USA
Matthew Berg, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS, USA

Local committee

Alexey Shcherbakov, Chair, ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia
Anastasia Kaptsova, Secretary, ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia

Science committee

Pavel Belov, ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia
Anatoli Borovoi, Institute of Atmospheric Optics, Tomsk, Russia
Sharon Burton, NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, VA, USA
Anthony Davis, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, USA
Gérard Gouesbet, National Institute of Applied Sciences, Rouen, France
Joop Hovenier, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Evgueni Kassianov, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA, USA
Nikolai Khlebtsov, Russian Academy of Sciences, Saratov, Russia
Gerhard Kristensson, Lund University, Sweden
Eric Le Ru, Victoria University, Wellington, New Zealand
James Lock, Cleveland State University, OH, USA
Hal Maring, NASA HQ, Washington, DC, USA
Alexander Marshak, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD, USA
M. Pinar Mengüç, Ozyegin University, Istanbul, Turkey
Karri Muinonen, University of Helsinki & National Land Survey, Finland
Timo Nieminen, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Elena Petrova, Space Research Institute, Moscow, Russia
Christopher Sorensen, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS, USA
Knut Stamnes, Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ, USA
Gorden Videen, Army Research Laboratory, Adelphi, MD, USA
Thomas Wriedt, University of Bremen, Germany
Ping Yang, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA
Maxim Yurkin, Novosibirsk State University, Russia


There will be three Elsevier awards presented at the conference:

  • The 2020 Hendrik C. Van de Hulst Award presented to a senior scientist who has made landmark original contributions to the research field of electromagnetic scattering and its applications (see announcement).
  • The 2020 Peter C. Waterman Award presented to an early career scientist in the category of electromagnetic scattering (see announcement).
  • The 2020 Richard M. Goody Award presented to an early career scientist in the category of atmospheric radiation and remote sensing (see announcement).

Visa support

Please notify Alexey Shcherbakov at if you need an official invitation in order to apply for Russian visa.

ELS conferences code of conduct

Click to see the document

Topical issue of JQSRT

Following the highly successful ELS practice, we will be soliciting papers for the ELS-XIX Topical Issue of the Journal of Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer (JQSRT) and hope that you will want your state-of-the-art research to become part of yet another benchmark collection of papers on electromagnetic scattering and its applications. This Topical Issue will consist only of full-size papers documenting research either reported at the conference or pertaining to the main topics of ELS-XIX. Extended abstracts of conference presentations will not be considered. Each submission will be thoroughly reviewed by at least two independent referees to ensure that all accepted manuscripts satisfy the highest standards of scientific quality adopted for JQSRT. Again, this will be a topical issue of JQSRT rather than a conference proceedings volume.

To expedite the communication of your research results to the scientific community, each paper will be officially published (including the year, volume, and page numbers) as soon as it has been accepted, typeset, and proof-read. In other words, the authors of accepted manuscripts will see their papers officially published without having to wait for the rest of the manuscripts to get accepted. This accelerated publication protocol is a recent improvement in the JQSRT production process. The paper submission deadline is 30 September 2020.


Further information:

Alexey Shcherbakov,

NASA contact:

Michael Mishchenko,