Venus Science Today, 2020

Agenda

All times are in Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Equivalent daily start times in selected time-zones would be:
13:00 GMT = 06:00 PST (USA), 09:00 EST (USA), 15:00 CEST (Berlin), 22:00 JST (Tokyo)

31 August 2020 : High atmosphere to exosphere/plasma environment
Session Chair: Takehiko Satoh (JAXA)
Time Speaker Title Abstract Talk
13:00-13:25 GMT Moa Persson
IRF/Kiruna, Sweden
[Invited]
The Venusian atmospheric oxygen ion escape and its effect on the atmospheric evolution Text PDF
13:25-13:45 Shannon Curry
Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley, USA
Parker Solar Probe: new results from Venus Flybys 1-3 Text
13:45-13:50 Break
13:50-14:10 Chuanfei Dong
Princeton U, USA
Atmospheric Escape From TOI-700 d: Venus versus Earth Analogs Text PDF
14:10-14:30 Arnaud Mahieux
Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy
Determination of the eddy diffusion profile in the mesosphere using SOIR/VEx observations Text PDF
14:30-15:00 Discussion Session
Moderators: Satoh/Persson
1 September 2020 : Lower atmosphere/climate/fluid dynamics/clouds
Session Chair: Kandi Jessup (SWRI)
Time Speaker Title Abstract Talk
13:00-13:25 Takeshi Horinouchi
Hokkaido U, Japan
[Invited]
How do waves and turbulence maintain the super-rotation of Venus' atmosphere — Results from Akatsuki Text PDF
13:25-13:40 Minori Narita
U of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA
Correlation Analysis of Venus' Cloud Top Morphology between Different Wavelengths Text
13:40-13:55 Discussion Session
Moderators: Jessup/Horinouchi
13:55-14:00 Break
14:00-14:15 Konstantin Herbst
Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, Germany
Venus in the context of habitability Text
14:15-14:30 Diana Gentry
NASA/Ames, USA
Lessons from Earth Aerobiology for Venus Astrobiology Text PDF
14:30-14:45 Carver Bierson
Arizona State U, USA
The State of Venus Atmospheric Chemistry Modeling Text PDF
14:45-15:00 Discussion Session
Moderators: Jessup/Horinouchi

2 September 2020 : Surface, Volcanism, Tectonics
Session Chair: Michael Way (NASA/GISS)
Time Speaker Title Abstract Talk
13:00-13:25 Martha Gilmore
Wesleyan U, USA
[Invited]
Variations in Radar Emissivity on Venus Highlands Text
13:25-13:45 Paul Byrne
North Carolina State U, USA
Venus Tesserae Feature Layered, Folded, and Eroded Rocks Text
13:45-13:50 Break
13:50-14:10 Richard E. Ernst
Carleton U, Canada
Geological Evidence for the Great Climate Change Event on Venus Text
14:10-14:30 Tania Gaspar Patarroyo
CICESE, Mexico
Exploring the link between Volcanic fields and Tectonic features on Venus Text
14:30-15:00 Discussion Session
Moderators: Way/Gilmore
3 September 2020 : Mantle Dynamics/Interior
Session Chair: Cedric Gillmann (Free University of Brussels)
Time Speaker Title Abstract Talk
13:00-13:25 Matthew Weller
Brown U, USA
[Invited]
Venus, Can We Judge a Book by its Cover? Text
13:25-13:40 Anna Gülcher
ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Evidence for widespread ongoing plume activity on Venus — clues from corona morphologies Text PDF
13:40-13:45 Break
13:45-14:00 Grant Euen
Virginia Tech, USA
Venus Mantle Plumes Text PDF
14:00-14:15 Masaki Ogawa
University of Tokyo at Komaba, Japan
Crustal recycling and the history of magmatism in Venus Text PDF
14:15-14:30 Joseph G. O'Rourke
Arizona State U, USA
A Basal Magma Ocean in Venus: Implications for Gravity, Heat Flow, Magnetism, and Noble Gases Text PDF
14:30-15:00 Discussion Session
Moderators: Gillmann/Weller

Note: PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader or compatible viewing software to be viewed.

+ Return to Venus Science Today 2020 Homepage